Running i-sobot on Nokia BL-5C battery

Takara Tomy's i-SOBOT is the first humanoid "toy" launched at end of 2007. This forum is dedicated to hacking the i-SOBOT.
5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1

Running i-sobot on Nokia BL-5C battery

Post by greenchilli » Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:16 am

Post by greenchilli
Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:16 am

I am toying with the idea of running i-sobot on a generic Nokia BL-5C Li-ion battery. The rating of the battery is 3.7V 850 mAh.

Voltage wise, it should be close enough to the 3xEneloop battery.

Although I am seasoned with servos and microcontrollers, I am still relatively new to battery technologies.

Can anyone tell me if the above will work?
I am toying with the idea of running i-sobot on a generic Nokia BL-5C Li-ion battery. The rating of the battery is 3.7V 850 mAh.

Voltage wise, it should be close enough to the 3xEneloop battery.

Although I am seasoned with servos and microcontrollers, I am still relatively new to battery technologies.

Can anyone tell me if the above will work?
greenchilli offline

Post by Sonic » Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:38 pm

Post by Sonic
Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:38 pm

important supplemental battery informatoin for i-sobot

For best performance with the i-SOBOT robot, use the SANYO Eneloop
batteries included.

DO NOT use alkaline, zinc-carbon (heavy duty) or high voltage (such as 1.7V Oxyride) batteries
in the i-SOBOT robot. (Alkaline batteries may be used in the remote control unit.)

The robot unit will not function properly with alkaline, zinc-carbon or high voltage batteries and in some cases these batteries may damage some components.

If an additional set of batteries is needed for the i-SOBOT robot, TOMY recommends purchasing SANYO Eneloop AAA batteries or batteries with the following specifications:

NiMH 1.2V AAA (HR03) Rechargeable Batteries

For details about eneloop batteries, please visit http://www.eneloopusa.com.