vrbot with robophilo jr

From RoboBrothers.com (Livermore, CA) came the first sub US$400 humanoid robot kit to appear late 2007
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

vrbot with robophilo jr

Post by js6004 » Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:49 am

Post by js6004
Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:49 am

Hi, I'm new to this forum. I was wondering if anyone could help me. I bought both the vrbot module and robophilo sdk, and am trying to get my junior to respond to voice commands. I really don't know how to program ( I just bought the sdk so I could use vrbot). There is a demo script for an arduino board on the vrbot website. Does anyone know if this, or a modification of this c code would work with robophilo? Also, I have to connect to the vcc, ground, tx, and rx pins on the atmega32-16pu controller. Any ideas on how to do that? Any help at all would be most appreciated. TIA, Janet
Hi, I'm new to this forum. I was wondering if anyone could help me. I bought both the vrbot module and robophilo sdk, and am trying to get my junior to respond to voice commands. I really don't know how to program ( I just bought the sdk so I could use vrbot). There is a demo script for an arduino board on the vrbot website. Does anyone know if this, or a modification of this c code would work with robophilo? Also, I have to connect to the vcc, ground, tx, and rx pins on the atmega32-16pu controller. Any ideas on how to do that? Any help at all would be most appreciated. TIA, Janet
js6004 offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:43 am

Post by SabbathbloodySabbath » Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:52 pm

Post by SabbathbloodySabbath
Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:52 pm

Hi there js6004 .. i have the robophilo (20 d.o.f.) but we have the same logic board..
1) i don't have any experience with C Programming language but normally your demo arduino source code should work fine with the Philo SDK.
2) as i see on http://www.robotshop.us/vrbot-voice-rec ... obots.html about your Vrbot module you need first of all a 3.3 to 5 v DC for powering up your module on vcc and ground pins and robophilo is providing 6v DC, secondly a UART compliant interface for tx-rx pins but i think that robophilo logical board doesn't have UART interface, maybe i m wrong, the best way is to ask at support@robobrothers.com.

we will be happy to see your project finished ...
welcome to the forum mate. ...
Hi there js6004 .. i have the robophilo (20 d.o.f.) but we have the same logic board..
1) i don't have any experience with C Programming language but normally your demo arduino source code should work fine with the Philo SDK.
2) as i see on http://www.robotshop.us/vrbot-voice-rec ... obots.html about your Vrbot module you need first of all a 3.3 to 5 v DC for powering up your module on vcc and ground pins and robophilo is providing 6v DC, secondly a UART compliant interface for tx-rx pins but i think that robophilo logical board doesn't have UART interface, maybe i m wrong, the best way is to ask at support@robobrothers.com.

we will be happy to see your project finished ...
welcome to the forum mate. ...
SabbathbloodySabbath offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:48 am

Post by PedroR » Mon Dec 28, 2009 1:27 pm

Post by PedroR
Mon Dec 28, 2009 1:27 pm

Hi

If you're not familiar with the programming language of the Robophilo SDK you may need to become a bit familiar with that first.

Once you master that, the best resource of information on implementing VRbot with other platforms is the VRBot Protocol Manual
http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/VRb ... col1.3.pdf

Towards the end of the manual you can find sample implementation code (in a kind of pseudo-code) explaining the communication scheme with the robot.

You need to take that information and adapt it into the language used by the SDK.

I don't believe starting with the Arduino code would help very much though...


With regards to what SabbathbloodySabbath said, you don't actually need to power it with 5V.

VRBot will work with 3.3V as well. Just make sure that RX and TX are at 3.3V too.
Refer to the data sheet here http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/VRb ... eet1.0.pdf for information about the voltage ranges supported.

Regards
Pedro
Hi

If you're not familiar with the programming language of the Robophilo SDK you may need to become a bit familiar with that first.

Once you master that, the best resource of information on implementing VRbot with other platforms is the VRBot Protocol Manual
http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/VRb ... col1.3.pdf

Towards the end of the manual you can find sample implementation code (in a kind of pseudo-code) explaining the communication scheme with the robot.

You need to take that information and adapt it into the language used by the SDK.

I don't believe starting with the Arduino code would help very much though...


With regards to what SabbathbloodySabbath said, you don't actually need to power it with 5V.

VRBot will work with 3.3V as well. Just make sure that RX and TX are at 3.3V too.
Refer to the data sheet here http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/VRb ... eet1.0.pdf for information about the voltage ranges supported.

Regards
Pedro
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Voice recognition

Post by hugobiwan » Wed Nov 02, 2011 10:23 pm

Post by hugobiwan
Wed Nov 02, 2011 10:23 pm

It can also be done with an easy VR board(30€) from Tiga plugged on an arduino driving the robot with a Infrared Led.
I did it with robot sapien and Robophilo, it works.
Best regards.
@hugobiwan
It can also be done with an easy VR board(30€) from Tiga plugged on an arduino driving the robot with a Infrared Led.
I did it with robot sapien and Robophilo, it works.
Best regards.
@hugobiwan
hugobiwan offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 11:29 pm


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1
cron