Building humanoid similar to Asimo and Qrio

RoboSavvy distributes and manufactures robots. This forum is dedicated to robots and other bits designed or manufactured by RoboSavvy and robot software developed by RoboSavvy.
127 postsPage 1 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9

Building humanoid similar to Asimo and Qrio

Post by limor » Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:38 pm

Post by limor
Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:38 pm

I've been playing with humanoid robots now for several years and finally I realized that it is time for me to design one.

I want it to look like Asimo and Qrio but to use standard hobby robot servos to make it affordable to hobbyists and AI researchers.

So here's my inspiration:

I've been playing with humanoid robots now for several years and finally I realized that it is time for me to design one.

I want it to look like Asimo and Qrio but to use standard hobby robot servos to make it affordable to hobbyists and AI researchers.

So here's my inspiration:

limor
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer

Post by limor » Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:52 pm

Post by limor
Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:52 pm

To start the project I'm focusing on the hips.
Asimo and Qrio set a standard for humanoid robot aesthetics.

if we look at the legs from within the torso then we see that the Roll DOF actuator is hidden in the torso. The Yaw and Pitch are in well occluded Universal Joint format. The "skin" that occludes the Universal Joint also limits the range of motion. This is not an issue because the robots don't need to have a range of motion wider than that of an average human.

If we look at other humanoid robot hip designs, some of the exposed servos are not pretty in comparison to the Asimo/Qrio. Some robots like Darwin-OP have partial skinning and others have full skinning. NAO's skin is ok except for the hip where you can see through the Universal Joint.

To start the project I'm focusing on the hips.
Asimo and Qrio set a standard for humanoid robot aesthetics.