Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

Roboard & AX12's

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1

Roboard & AX12's

Post by sniperscope » Sat May 09, 2009 1:13 am

Post by sniperscope
Sat May 09, 2009 1:13 am

Hello everyone: is there anyone using Roboard and AX12 servos? I am leaning towards getting this board as I have a bunch of AX12's. If so please detail your install. Thanks.
Hello everyone: is there anyone using Roboard and AX12 servos? I am leaning towards getting this board as I have a bunch of AX12's. If so please detail your install. Thanks.
sniperscope
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:58 pm

Roboard compatible to all Dynamixel Servos

Post by Raymond » Sat May 09, 2009 5:43 am

Post by Raymond
Sat May 09, 2009 5:43 am

Hi Sniperscope,

There are ports to facilitate conneting both AX and RX Servos to Roboard. You will have to connect power to your servos. There is a nice little circuit board that you can purchase:

http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info ... cts_id/505

Other than that you will need to write your code to issue commands the the AX directly. Many have developed interfaces in different ways.

Hope this helps

Mark
Hi Sniperscope,

There are ports to facilitate conneting both AX and RX Servos to Roboard. You will have to connect power to your servos. There is a nice little circuit board that you can purchase:

http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info ... cts_id/505

Other than that you will need to write your code to issue commands the the AX directly. Many have developed interfaces in different ways.

Hope this helps

Mark
Raymond
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:17 pm

Post by lucrece_lu » Tue May 19, 2009 4:47 am

Post by lucrece_lu
Tue May 19, 2009 4:47 am

RoBoard can connect with AX-12 via COM3 (short TX & RX) or COM4.

Using COM3, we will receive every packet that we send, before receiving the return packet of AX-12.

And using COM4, we must switch the RTS state to control the direction of the data line (i.e., TXRX4 pin); in particular, we should first set RTS = 1 to send the command packet, and, after ensuring that the packet has been sent out by H/W, we should set RTS = 0 to receive the return packet of AX-12.

In WinXP, it is not suggested to use COM4. This is due to the following
facts: 1. it is difficult in WinXP to ensure whether all data have been flushed out by H/W using standard Win32 API; 2. it is also difficult to guarantee the correct timing for switching RTS because the timing may be affected by thread/process context-switching. The sample code provides some heuristics to tackle the two issues.

The sample code assumes that AX-12's ID = 01 and its buadrate = 115200.

sample code download, for COM3 and COM4
http://www.roboard.com/files/code/RoBoa ... dAX-12.zip
http://www.roboard.com/files/code/RoBoa ... dAX-12.zip
RoBoard can connect with AX-12 via COM3 (short TX & RX) or COM4.

Using COM3, we will receive every packet that we send, before receiving the return packet of AX-12.

And using COM4, we must switch the RTS state to control the direction of the data line (i.e., TXRX4 pin); in particular, we should first set RTS = 1 to send the command packet, and, after ensuring that the packet has been sent out by H/W, we should set RTS = 0 to receive the return packet of AX-12.

In WinXP, it is not suggested to use COM4. This is due to the following
facts: 1. it is difficult in WinXP to ensure whether all data have been flushed out by H/W using standard Win32 API; 2. it is also difficult to guarantee the correct timing for switching RTS because the timing may be affected by thread/process context-switching. The sample code provides some heuristics to tackle the two issues.

The sample code assumes that AX-12's ID = 01 and its buadrate = 115200.

sample code download, for COM3 and COM4
http://www.roboard.com/files/code/RoBoa ... dAX-12.zip
http://www.roboard.com/files/code/RoBoa ... dAX-12.zip
lucrece_lu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:07 am

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Tue May 19, 2009 6:56 pm

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Tue May 19, 2009 6:56 pm

Umm, it sounds really interesting...

The specifications for powering it is 5v @ 400mA.

Which battery do you use? Any recommendation?

Thanks!
Umm, it sounds really interesting...

The specifications for powering it is 5v @ 400mA.

Which battery do you use? Any recommendation?

Thanks!
siempre.aprendiendo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by lucrece_lu » Wed May 20, 2009 1:11 am

Post by lucrece_lu
Wed May 20, 2009 1:11 am

the Board support DC 6V -24V, use any batery in range is working
the Board support DC 6V -24V, use any batery in range is working
lucrece_lu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:07 am

Post by PedroR » Wed May 20, 2009 4:03 pm

Post by PedroR
Wed May 20, 2009 4:03 pm

Hi

As per the specs you can power the board with any voltage ranging from 6~24V.

The COMM ports on the board also have Vdd and GND and can supply power to whatever you connect there.
The voltage supplied is the same that the boards receives on the input.

However the cables the manufacturer supplies with the roboard do not come with Gnd/Vdd wired in their connectors so you'll need to create your own.
[UPDATE by PedroR on June 24th 2009 ] All Roboards sold by Robosavvy now come with 4 wire connectors on the COMM ports.
This means you use the Vdd and GND pins on the COMM port to power the servo bus.
The board is capable of delivering up to 10Amps of power and the voltage on Vdd will be the same supplied by the battery you use to power the Roboard.



FYI robosavvy is running a promo on the Roboard with "Roboard + Cable Set + miniPCI VGA card + Free 1Gb SD Card" to get you started with the board. it's here http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info ... cts_id/521
Hi

As per the specs you can power the board with any voltage ranging from 6~24V.

The COMM ports on the board also have Vdd and GND and can supply power to whatever you connect there.
The voltage supplied is the same that the boards receives on the input.

However the cables the manufacturer supplies with the roboard do not come with Gnd/Vdd wired in their connectors so you'll need to create your own.
[UPDATE by PedroR on June 24th 2009 ] All Roboards sold by Robosavvy now come with 4 wire connectors on the COMM ports.
This means you use the Vdd and GND pins on the COMM port to power the servo bus.
The board is capable of delivering up to 10Amps of power and the voltage on Vdd will be the same supplied by the battery you use to power the Roboard.



FYI robosavvy is running a promo on the Roboard with "Roboard + Cable Set + miniPCI VGA card + Free 1Gb SD Card" to get you started with the board. it's here http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info ... cts_id/521
PedroR
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm


6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1