Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

TTL (COM3) in Ubuntu

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
21 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
21 postsPage 2 of 21, 2

Post by roboard » Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:31 am

Post by roboard
Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:31 am

roboard wrote:...The details for our kernel configuring and building should be answered by our Linux engineer, who is on vacation this week. We will ask him to mention the details next week.


Hi gdo,

the following is the answer from our Linux engineer:

No kernel source is modified for COM3/COM4. We only set the following configuration for RoBoard's native COM before builing the kernel:

CONFIG_SERIAL_8250_NR_UARTS=8
CONFIG_SERIAL_8250_RUNTIME_UARTS=2

:)
roboard wrote:...The details for our kernel configuring and building should be answered by our Linux engineer, who is on vacation this week. We will ask him to mention the details next week.


Hi gdo,

the following is the answer from our Linux engineer:

No kernel source is modified for COM3/COM4. We only set the following configuration for RoBoard's native COM before builing the kernel:

CONFIG_SERIAL_8250_NR_UARTS=8
CONFIG_SERIAL_8250_RUNTIME_UARTS=2

:)
roboard
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by gdo » Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:25 pm

Post by gdo
Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:25 pm

All is ok for me !

Thanks ;)
All is ok for me !

Thanks ;)
gdo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:47 pm

Same IRQ on Serial Ports.

Post by afiebig » Tue Oct 11, 2011 3:40 pm

Post by afiebig
Tue Oct 11, 2011 3:40 pm

Hi, I'm fairly new to this forum and would like to make a few
questions related to this thread.

I've configured COM3 and COM4 as shown in the previous post

haydndup wrote:Also, I'm not sure if it's normal, but I have to rerun setserial every time the Roboard boots. Does setserial not save the configuration?


The problem is that when my Debian boot it says
Code: Select all
Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 4 ports, IRQ sharing enabled
serial8250: ttyS0 at I/O 0x3f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
serial8250: ttyS1 at I/O 0x2f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
serial8250: ttyS2 at I/O 0x3e8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
serial8250: ttyS3 at I/O 0x2e8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A


here I see that they share the same IRQ, if I use setserial the irq changes, but I'm not sure these changes will work until the roboard restarts.

so, there is my problem, i'm using ttyS0 for console redirect, and i need to use the ttyS2 for AX-12 Control, but their share the same IRQ.

Hope you can help me
Hi, I'm fairly new to this forum and would like to make a few
questions related to this thread.

I've configured COM3 and COM4 as shown in the previous post

haydndup wrote:Also, I'm not sure if it's normal, but I have to rerun setserial every time the Roboard boots. Does setserial not save the configuration?


The problem is that when my Debian boot it says
Code: Select all
Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 4 ports, IRQ sharing enabled
serial8250: ttyS0 at I/O 0x3f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
serial8250: ttyS1 at I/O 0x2f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
serial8250: ttyS2 at I/O 0x3e8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
serial8250: ttyS3 at I/O 0x2e8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A


here I see that they share the same IRQ, if I use setserial the irq changes, but I'm not sure these changes will work until the roboard restarts.

so, there is my problem, i'm using ttyS0 for console redirect, and i need to use the ttyS2 for AX-12 Control, but their share the same IRQ.

Hope you can help me
afiebig
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:11 am

Post by gdo » Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:11 pm

Post by gdo
Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:11 pm

Have a look at /etc/serial.conf.

That's were you can save your setserial configuration.

gdo
Have a look at /etc/serial.conf.

That's were you can save your setserial configuration.

gdo
gdo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:47 pm

no /etc/serial.conf

Post by afiebig » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:36 pm

Post by afiebig
Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:36 pm

Hi, thanks for your advice, but i have no /etc/serial.conf

Now I realise that the IRQ are coded on the
<linux_kernel_source_dir>/arch/alpha/include/asm/serial.h

it goes somethin like this:

Code: Select all
/*UART CLK PORT IRQ FLAGS */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x3f8, 4, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS0 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x2f8, 3, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS1 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x3e8, 4, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS2 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x2e8, 3, STD_COM4_FLAGS}, /* ttyS3 */


so i change that and i'm compiling my kernel.
Hi, thanks for your advice, but i have no /etc/serial.conf

Now I realise that the IRQ are coded on the
<linux_kernel_source_dir>/arch/alpha/include/asm/serial.h

it goes somethin like this:

Code: Select all
/*UART CLK PORT IRQ FLAGS */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x3f8, 4, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS0 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x2f8, 3, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS1 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x3e8, 4, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS2 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x2e8, 3, STD_COM4_FLAGS}, /* ttyS3 */


so i change that and i'm compiling my kernel.
afiebig
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:11 am

Re: no /etc/serial.conf

Post by gdo » Thu Oct 13, 2011 2:54 am

Post by gdo
Thu Oct 13, 2011 2:54 am

afiebig wrote:Hi, thanks for your advice, but i have no /etc/serial.conf

Normal you have to create it. ;)
The default configuration file is : /var/lib/setserial/autoserial.conf
You could modify this one directly but I prefer to use /etc/serial.conf instead.
But be careful, if /etc/serial.conf exists, /var/lib/setserial/autoserial.conf is not used ;)

afiebig wrote:Now I realise that the IRQ are coded on the
<linux_kernel_source_dir>/arch/alpha/include/asm/serial.h

it goes somethin like this:

Code: Select all
/*UART CLK PORT IRQ FLAGS */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x3f8, 4, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS0 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x2f8, 3, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS1 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x3e8, 4, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS2 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x2e8, 3, STD_COM4_FLAGS}, /* ttyS3 */


so i change that and i'm compiling my kernel.


Yes it is an other good solution. :)

Good luck,
gdo
afiebig wrote:Hi, thanks for your advice, but i have no /etc/serial.conf

Normal you have to create it. ;)
The default configuration file is : /var/lib/setserial/autoserial.conf
You could modify this one directly but I prefer to use /etc/serial.conf instead.
But be careful, if /etc/serial.conf exists, /var/lib/setserial/autoserial.conf is not used ;)

afiebig wrote:Now I realise that the IRQ are coded on the
<linux_kernel_source_dir>/arch/alpha/include/asm/serial.h

it goes somethin like this:

Code: Select all
/*UART CLK PORT IRQ FLAGS */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x3f8, 4, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS0 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x2f8, 3, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS1 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x3e8, 4, STD_COM_FLAGS}, /* ttyS2 */
{0, BASE_BAUD, 0x2e8, 3, STD_COM4_FLAGS}, /* ttyS3 */


so i change that and i'm compiling my kernel.


Yes it is an other good solution. :)

Good luck,
gdo
gdo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:47 pm

Previous
21 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
21 postsPage 2 of 21, 2