Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

Things to DO and NOT Do with your RN-!

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
16 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
16 postsPage 1 of 21, 2

Things to DO and NOT Do with your RN-!

Post by Morbeious » Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:48 am

Post by Morbeious
Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:48 am

I'd like to start a thread here on what not to do or do with your RN-1, (ie, like Don't have battery plugged in while using charger as a power source)

1. Can anyone tell me if its ok to use the Plug as a power source, and program, play with Remote control, etc. or should the power plug only be used to charge?


2. How many .bas programs can you send to the controller? if you have multiple .bas program (e.g. Template, and Template Puppet) programs should those be combined and then sent to the controller? or should they only be used one or the other?
I'd like to start a thread here on what not to do or do with your RN-1, (ie, like Don't have battery plugged in while using charger as a power source)

1. Can anyone tell me if its ok to use the Plug as a power source, and program, play with Remote control, etc. or should the power plug only be used to charge?


2. How many .bas programs can you send to the controller? if you have multiple .bas program (e.g. Template, and Template Puppet) programs should those be combined and then sent to the controller? or should they only be used one or the other?
Morbeious
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan, USA

Post by bauermech » Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:36 am

Post by bauermech
Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:36 am

1. No, the charger's output is too great to use as a power source while operating the robonova. It is possible, and will work, but not for too long before burning out your expensive components.

2. Anytime you send a .bas file to the robonova, it overwrites the previous one. You can combine routines and other such sections from a number of .bas files, conglomerate it into one file, and then send it.

Hope this helps.
1. No, the charger's output is too great to use as a power source while operating the robonova. It is possible, and will work, but not for too long before burning out your expensive components.

2. Anytime you send a .bas file to the robonova, it overwrites the previous one. You can combine routines and other such sections from a number of .bas files, conglomerate it into one file, and then send it.

Hope this helps.
bauermech
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Defiance, Ohio, USA

Post by Guest » Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:00 am

Post by Guest
Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:00 am

Yeap, helps a bunch..

3rd question in programming moves for the Remote, i notice K35 - K40 was blank, I attempted to add the the code for a push up moves, but can't seem to figure out which key on the remote K35 is for? I see k1- k32 on the remocon software, so where is k35 - k40?

BTW, your Puppet software is Sweet..
Yeap, helps a bunch..

3rd question in programming moves for the Remote, i notice K35 - K40 was blank, I attempted to add the the code for a push up moves, but can't seem to figure out which key on the remote K35 is for? I see k1- k32 on the remocon software, so where is k35 - k40?

BTW, your Puppet software is Sweet..
Guest

Post by bauermech » Tue Mar 28, 2006 6:10 am

Post by bauermech
Tue Mar 28, 2006 6:10 am

A3. Actually, there isn't a k35 - k40 on the IR remote. Only the MECH Pupeteer application supports them as of now. In Puppeteer, they're the red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple, colored robonova buttons. You may also notice (when using the IR remote) buttons 10 and 13 (as displayed in RoboRemocon) make the robonova play tones. This is because I set up Puppeteer initially for use with the BlueSMiRF bluetooth module (found at http://www.sparkfun.com). The module would send out some 'funny code' upon initialization, and this prevents it (thanks to subpilot for helping narrow it down).
A3. Actually, there isn't a k35 - k40 on the IR remote. Only the MECH Pupeteer application supports them as of now. In Puppeteer, they're the red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple, colored robonova buttons. You may also notice (when using the IR remote) buttons 10 and 13 (as displayed in RoboRemocon) make the robonova play tones. This is because I set up Puppeteer initially for use with the BlueSMiRF bluetooth module (found at http://www.sparkfun.com). The module would send out some 'funny code' upon initialization, and this prevents it (thanks to subpilot for helping narrow it down).
bauermech
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Defiance, Ohio, USA

Post by Morbeious » Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:09 am

Post by Morbeious
Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:09 am

Good to know I just knew I was looking in a haystack for a needle that wasn't really there.

Question #4: RoboBasic
I see hitec took the time to break out several moves into seperate .Bas file. I'm wondering if these .bas file can be called like external function call modules like in C++, or did they just break them into seperate files to make them easier to chain together into one big program. with labels for each function call?

thx,
Good to know I just knew I was looking in a haystack for a needle that wasn't really there.

Question #4: RoboBasic
I see hitec took the time to break out several moves into seperate .Bas file. I'm wondering if these .bas file can be called like external function call modules like in C++, or did they just break them into seperate files to make them easier to chain together into one big program. with labels for each function call?

thx,
Morbeious
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan, USA

Post by subpilot » Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:24 am

Post by subpilot
Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:24 am

Question #4:

Nothing as fancy as that. You can only compile the single active file and can't add calls to any additional modules. To me Robobasic has just enough functionality to get it out the door and no more. Maybe we'll see improvements as time goes by.
Question #4:

Nothing as fancy as that. You can only compile the single active file and can't add calls to any additional modules. To me Robobasic has just enough functionality to get it out the door and no more. Maybe we'll see improvements as time goes by.
subpilot
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Lake Arrowhead, Ca,USA

Post by Morbeious » Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:30 pm

Post by Morbeious
Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:30 pm

Yeah, RoboBasic is pretty simple.. I'm just so use to structure/moduler programming.. lol. It took me years to get Apple, Commodore, and GWBasic programming techniques out of my head.. lol..

Question #5.

Found the Hitec 3-Channel 75Mhz Reciever thats shown in the robobasic manual, at a local hobby store. The manual didnt say much, was wonder if anyone tried hooking this up, and how much coding did it take to really get it working. Also are we trapped to 3 channels, or can we use like up to 9 channels.
Yeah, RoboBasic is pretty simple.. I'm just so use to structure/moduler programming.. lol. It took me years to get Apple, Commodore, and GWBasic programming techniques out of my head.. lol..

Question #5.

Found the Hitec 3-Channel 75Mhz Reciever thats shown in the robobasic manual, at a local hobby store. The manual didnt say much, was wonder if anyone tried hooking this up, and how much coding did it take to really get it working. Also are we trapped to 3 channels, or can we use like up to 9 channels.
Morbeious
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan, USA

Post by bauermech » Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:38 pm

Post by bauermech
Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:38 pm

I ordered mine and should be here somtime this week. I'm diving right into this one, and wil probably need some advice as well. I'll let you know when it arives. :D
I ordered mine and should be here somtime this week. I'm diving right into this one, and wil probably need some advice as well. I'll let you know when it arives. :D
bauermech
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Defiance, Ohio, USA

Post by Tacoman » Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:02 pm

Post by Tacoman
Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:02 pm

I set up my RN-1 with a Futaba 4-channel set. It wasn't very difficult, just had to make some cables for power and signal couplings between the reciever an the control board. I used a couple of the A/D channels and added a subroutine to main to watch for signals. I also modded the walking routines to check for RC signals so that he will walk continuously and not pause every 2 steps. However, my reciever introduces alot of electrical noise to the system, and RN-1 behaves strangely, jittering sometimes, pausing in the middle of a routine, etc. I haven't hooked him up to a 'scope yet, but an appropriate capacitor across the power pins will probably fix this.
I set up my RN-1 with a Futaba 4-channel set. It wasn't very difficult, just had to make some cables for power and signal couplings between the reciever an the control board. I used a couple of the A/D channels and added a subroutine to main to watch for signals. I also modded the walking routines to check for RC signals so that he will walk continuously and not pause every 2 steps. However, my reciever introduces alot of electrical noise to the system, and RN-1 behaves strangely, jittering sometimes, pausing in the middle of a routine, etc. I haven't hooked him up to a 'scope yet, but an appropriate capacitor across the power pins will probably fix this.
Tacoman
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Morbeious » Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:13 pm

Post by Morbeious
Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:13 pm

I'm also worried about the interference, I have a futaba 6 channel PCM receiver, and 9 channel radio, I might try. It should minimized the intereference I hope, if not I might try one of the new spectrum radios/recievers. Do you mind sharing your .bas
I'm also worried about the interference, I have a futaba 6 channel PCM receiver, and 9 channel radio, I might try. It should minimized the intereference I hope, if not I might try one of the new spectrum radios/recievers. Do you mind sharing your .bas
Morbeious
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan, USA

Post by bauermech » Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:01 pm

Post by bauermech
Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:01 pm

Oh cool! My HFS-03MM just showed up at the door! Gotta' get going so probably won't be able to screw around with it much today... but soon.
Oh cool! My HFS-03MM just showed up at the door! Gotta' get going so probably won't be able to screw around with it much today... but soon.
bauermech
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Defiance, Ohio, USA

Post by Tacoman » Sat Apr 01, 2006 8:01 pm

Post by Tacoman
Sat Apr 01, 2006 8:01 pm

RC Control Code:

Code: Select all
'================================================
rc_handle:
   
   RCX = RCIN(3)
   RCY = RCIN(4)
   
   'RC Walk
      
   IF RCX >= 125 THEN ' RIGHT TURN
      GOSUB right_turn
      GOSUB standard_pose
   ENDIF
         
   IF RCX <= 75 AND RCX > 10 THEN 'LEFT TURN
      GOSUB left_turn
      GOSUB standard_pose
   ENDIF
         
   IF RCY >= 125 THEN ' BACKWARD
      GOSUB backward_walk
      GOSUB standard_pose
   ENDIF
   
   IF RCY <= 75 AND RCY > 10 THEN ' FORWARD
      GOSUB forward_walk
      GOSUB standard_pose
   ENDIF
   
   RETURN
'================================================


Modified Forward Walk:

Code: Select all
'================================================
forward_walk:

   SPEED 5
   MOVE24  85,  71, 152,  91, 112,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 112,  76, 145,  93,  92,  60,
   
   fwd_walk_main:
   
      SPEED 14 
'left up
      MOVE24  90, 107, 105, 105, 114,  60,  90,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 114,  76, 145,  93,  90,  60,
'---------------------------------------
'left down
      MOVE24  90,  56, 143, 122, 114,  60,  80,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 105,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 113,  80, 145,  90,  90,  60,
      MOVE24  90,  46, 163, 112, 114,  60,  80,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 105,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 112,  80, 145,  90,  90,  60,
   
      SPEED 10
'left center
      MOVE24 100,  66, 141, 113, 100, 100,  90,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  83, 156,  80, 100, 100,
      MOVE24 113,  78, 142, 105,  90,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90, 102, 136,  85, 114,  60,

      SPEED 14
'right up

      MOVE24 113,  76, 145,  93,  90,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90, 107, 105, 105, 114,  60,
         
'right down
      MOVE24 113,  80, 145,  90,  90,  60, 105,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  80,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90,  56, 143, 122, 114,  60,
      
      SPEED 10
'right center
      MOVE24 100,  83, 156,  80, 100, 100, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  66, 141, 113, 100, 100,
      MOVE24  90, 102, 136,  85, 114,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 113,  78, 142, 105,  90,  60,
      
      
      RCX = RCIN(3)
      RCY = RCIN(4)
      
      IF RCX >= 75 AND RCX <= 125 THEN
      
         IF RCY <= 75 THEN
            GOTO fwd_walk_main
      ENDIF
   
   SPEED 5
   MOVE24  85,  71, 152,  91, 112,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 112,  76, 145,  93,  92,  60,
   
   
   RETURN
RC Control Code:

Code: Select all
'================================================
rc_handle:
   
   RCX = RCIN(3)
   RCY = RCIN(4)
   
   'RC Walk
      
   IF RCX >= 125 THEN ' RIGHT TURN
      GOSUB right_turn
      GOSUB standard_pose
   ENDIF
         
   IF RCX <= 75 AND RCX > 10 THEN 'LEFT TURN
      GOSUB left_turn
      GOSUB standard_pose
   ENDIF
         
   IF RCY >= 125 THEN ' BACKWARD
      GOSUB backward_walk
      GOSUB standard_pose
   ENDIF
   
   IF RCY <= 75 AND RCY > 10 THEN ' FORWARD
      GOSUB forward_walk
      GOSUB standard_pose
   ENDIF
   
   RETURN
'================================================


Modified Forward Walk:

Code: Select all
'================================================
forward_walk:

   SPEED 5
   MOVE24  85,  71, 152,  91, 112,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 112,  76, 145,  93,  92,  60,
   
   fwd_walk_main:
   
      SPEED 14 
'left up
      MOVE24  90, 107, 105, 105, 114,  60,  90,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 114,  76, 145,  93,  90,  60,
'---------------------------------------
'left down
      MOVE24  90,  56, 143, 122, 114,  60,  80,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 105,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 113,  80, 145,  90,  90,  60,
      MOVE24  90,  46, 163, 112, 114,  60,  80,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 105,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 112,  80, 145,  90,  90,  60,
   
      SPEED 10
'left center
      MOVE24 100,  66, 141, 113, 100, 100,  90,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  83, 156,  80, 100, 100,
      MOVE24 113,  78, 142, 105,  90,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90, 102, 136,  85, 114,  60,

      SPEED 14
'right up

      MOVE24 113,  76, 145,  93,  90,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90, 107, 105, 105, 114,  60,
         
'right down
      MOVE24 113,  80, 145,  90,  90,  60, 105,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  80,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90,  56, 143, 122, 114,  60,
      
      SPEED 10
'right center
      MOVE24 100,  83, 156,  80, 100, 100, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    ,  90,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  66, 141, 113, 100, 100,
      MOVE24  90, 102, 136,  85, 114,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 113,  78, 142, 105,  90,  60,
      
      
      RCX = RCIN(3)
      RCY = RCIN(4)
      
      IF RCX >= 75 AND RCX <= 125 THEN
      
         IF RCY <= 75 THEN
            GOTO fwd_walk_main
      ENDIF
   
   SPEED 5
   MOVE24  85,  71, 152,  91, 112,  60, 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 100,  40,  80,    ,    ,    , 112,  76, 145,  93,  92,  60,
   
   
   RETURN
Tacoman
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Guest » Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:27 pm

Post by Guest
Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:27 pm

on the HFS-03MM, what is DSC used for? Disconnect :? ?

- + DSC?
on the HFS-03MM, what is DSC used for? Disconnect :? ?

- + DSC?
Guest

Post by bauermech » Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:50 am

Post by bauermech
Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:50 am

Here's the HFS-03MM installed. It fits just right in between the shoulder servos (barely... like it was desidned aroind it :roll: ). I placed some heavy duty felt in the mix to keep it from getting bumped around during an impact. I threw Tacoman's code in, and works pretty well. Thanks! :D
Image
Image
Here's the HFS-03MM installed. It fits just right in between the shoulder servos (barely... like it was desidned aroind it :roll: ). I placed some heavy duty felt in the mix to keep it from getting bumped around during an impact. I threw Tacoman's code in, and works pretty well. Thanks! :D
Image
Image
bauermech
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Defiance, Ohio, USA

Post by toast » Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:56 pm

Post by toast
Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:56 pm

DSC stands for "direct servo control". Its a way of running your gear without transmitting. You plug your Tx into your Rx with a lead so you can run your gear at a field but the Rf side is disabled so you dont shoot anyone else down.

Question #x-1
Has anyone thought of using the new DSM systems for control? ie the Spektrum DX6 or 7? Should be zero noise. (2.4Ghz)
DSC stands for "direct servo control". Its a way of running your gear without transmitting. You plug your Tx into your Rx with a lead so you can run your gear at a field but the Rf side is disabled so you dont shoot anyone else down.

Question #x-1
Has anyone thought of using the new DSM systems for control? ie the Spektrum DX6 or 7? Should be zero noise. (2.4Ghz)
toast
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:40 am
Location: Taranaki - New Zealand

Next
16 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
16 postsPage 1 of 21, 2