Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

PS2 Wireless Game Controller

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
30 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
30 postsPage 1 of 21, 2

PS2 Wireless Game Controller

Post by i-Bot » Tue Jan 01, 2008 2:16 pm

Post by i-Bot
Tue Jan 01, 2008 2:16 pm

I finally got down to writing up how I did my Wireless PS2 game Contoller for the RoboNova.

It is not a complete how to build it guide, but should help builders for the RoboNova or other robots who want a similar controller.

The description is here:
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/Rob ... roller.pdf

And the PIC code is here:
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/PS2.zip
I finally got down to writing up how I did my Wireless PS2 game Contoller for the RoboNova.

It is not a complete how to build it guide, but should help builders for the RoboNova or other robots who want a similar controller.

The description is here:
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/Rob ... roller.pdf

And the PIC code is here:
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/PS2.zip
Last edited by i-Bot on Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
i-Bot
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Robo1 » Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:50 pm

Post by Robo1
Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:50 pm

Thanks for that i-bot.

I had a look at the code and will try it out later. A little side note you posted a link to the wrong file but I found the right one in you files.

Bren
Thanks for that i-bot.

I had a look at the code and will try it out later. A little side note you posted a link to the wrong file but I found the right one in you files.

Bren
Robo1
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK - Bristol

Post by i-Bot » Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:13 pm

Post by i-Bot
Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:13 pm

Thx, I fixed the link. Should now be OK

Done too much tidying up today. At least in chaos, I know where things are !
Thx, I fixed the link. Should now be OK

Done too much tidying up today. At least in chaos, I know where things are !
i-Bot
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by kevdemed » Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:53 pm

Post by kevdemed
Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:53 pm

Thank you very much!
I hope I can be able to do this.
Thank you very much!
I hope I can be able to do this.
kevdemed
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:00 am
Location: california

Hi i-bot I tried PS2 wireless

Post by jeffchifu » Wed Mar 05, 2008 1:29 am

Post by jeffchifu
Wed Mar 05, 2008 1:29 am

Hi i-bot,
I tried to used PS2 wireless to connect of MR-c3024 but doesn't work.
Do you have *.bas file ? Can I unload my 3024?
I uploaded sample *.bas in my 3024 but doesn,t work.
Do you have more information ?
thank you
jeff
Hi i-bot,
I tried to used PS2 wireless to connect of MR-c3024 but doesn't work.
Do you have *.bas file ? Can I unload my 3024?
I uploaded sample *.bas in my 3024 but doesn,t work.
Do you have more information ?
thank you
jeff
jeffchifu
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 4:16 am

Post by i-Bot » Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:41 pm

Post by i-Bot
Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:41 pm

I'm sorry, I didn't give any testing or debugging information.

The first step is to power it all up. The LED on the wireless receiver should show there is power, and the remote should connect to the receiver OK

The interface between the C3024 and the 16F688 is checked in the program I posted by the sending of the "W" character. If no characer is returned, then the program will sit waiting, and it will never get to the point where the tones are played. Serial problems may be due to connections, or because the 16F688 is not programmed or running.

If the serial interface is OK, then the W command should also have set the mode LED on the PS2 remote, and that should work too.

Let me know how far you get, and I will try to help, and then better document the testing.

Do you have any test gear ? and do you have an LCD display on the Robonova ? This can save a lot of time.
I'm sorry, I didn't give any testing or debugging information.

The first step is to power it all up. The LED on the wireless receiver should show there is power, and the remote should connect to the receiver OK

The interface between the C3024 and the 16F688 is checked in the program I posted by the sending of the "W" character. If no characer is returned, then the program will sit waiting, and it will never get to the point where the tones are played. Serial problems may be due to connections, or because the 16F688 is not programmed or running.

If the serial interface is OK, then the W command should also have set the mode LED on the PS2 remote, and that should work too.

Let me know how far you get, and I will try to help, and then better document the testing.

Do you have any test gear ? and do you have an LCD display on the Robonova ? This can save a lot of time.
i-Bot
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Hi i-bot I sucess to connect wire PS2 controller

Post by jeffchifu » Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:19 pm

Post by jeffchifu
Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:19 pm

Hi-
I can success to connect wire PS2 controller but it doesn't work in wireless PS2 controller.(only one time to success connect)
The wireless controller can use in BASIC ATOM .
Is it CLK signal problem?
thank you
jeff
Hi-
I can success to connect wire PS2 controller but it doesn't work in wireless PS2 controller.(only one time to success connect)
The wireless controller can use in BASIC ATOM .
Is it CLK signal problem?
thank you
jeff
jeffchifu
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 4:16 am

Post by i-Bot » Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:20 pm

Post by i-Bot
Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:20 pm

What wireless controller are you using ?

We have problems with Logitech wireless. They don't like a 5V power supply.

I have the Logitech working, though I dropped the voltage to both the PIC and the receiver to 3.3V, and added series resistors.

The "no name" wireless controller and the Madcatz wireless work fine.
What wireless controller are you using ?

We have problems with Logitech wireless. They don't like a 5V power supply.

I have the Logitech working, though I dropped the voltage to both the PIC and the receiver to 3.3V, and added series resistors.

The "no name" wireless controller and the Madcatz wireless work fine.
i-Bot
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by sideshow » Sun Apr 20, 2008 6:48 pm

Post by sideshow
Sun Apr 20, 2008 6:48 pm

Like Ibot said... I had the same problem, but with a series resistor going to the PS2 receiver. It worked just as it should.
Like Ibot said... I had the same problem, but with a series resistor going to the PS2 receiver. It worked just as it should.
sideshow
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:41 am

Thanks i-bot

Post by jeffchifu » Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:25 pm

Post by jeffchifu
Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:25 pm

I sucess to connect PS2wireless to MR-C3024.I bought PS2 wireless from CHINA.It's HK$65.(US 9.8 )
jeff
I sucess to connect PS2wireless to MR-C3024.I bought PS2 wireless from CHINA.It's HK$65.(US 9.8 )
jeff
jeffchifu
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 4:16 am

Hi i-bot

Post by jeffchifu » Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:16 am

Post by jeffchifu
Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:16 am

Hi i-bot ,
I want to know how many key can I use on PS2 controller.I saw your *bas
program that it's only 16keys to use.Can I use joystick (left channel and right channel)?It will make more function of MR-c3024.
thank you!
Hi i-bot ,
I want to know how many key can I use on PS2 controller.I saw your *bas
program that it's only 16keys to use.Can I use joystick (left channel and right channel)?It will make more function of MR-c3024.
thank you!
jeffchifu
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 4:16 am

Post by Gort » Fri May 23, 2008 5:11 pm

Post by Gort
Fri May 23, 2008 5:11 pm

How is everyone mounting their PS/2 receiver on their RN? That is what I am working on right now.
How is everyone mounting their PS/2 receiver on their RN? That is what I am working on right now.
Gort
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:00 am
Location: KC, MO, USA

Post by Gort » Mon May 26, 2008 4:35 pm

Post by Gort
Mon May 26, 2008 4:35 pm

i-Bot, did mounting the receiver on the front chest change the center of gravity of the robot?
i-Bot, did mounting the receiver on the front chest change the center of gravity of the robot?
Gort
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:00 am
Location: KC, MO, USA

Post by i-Bot » Mon May 26, 2008 4:56 pm

Post by i-Bot
Mon May 26, 2008 4:56 pm

No the receiver is light, so I had no problem. It is more the size than the weight which limits the placement. The PIC processor is in the chest plate because I have a head servo installed.

The Lynxmotion receiver is physically smaller, but requires a 3.3V supply. This may make some other options.
No the receiver is light, so I had no problem. It is more the size than the weight which limits the placement. The PIC processor is in the chest plate because I have a head servo installed.

The Lynxmotion receiver is physically smaller, but requires a 3.3V supply. This may make some other options.
i-Bot
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by NovaOne » Fri May 30, 2008 6:13 am

Post by NovaOne
Fri May 30, 2008 6:13 am

Excellent mod i-bot, formatting the data is a brilliant idea!

We have problems with Logitech wireless. They don't like a 5V power supply.
I have the Logitech working, though I dropped the voltage to both the PIC and the receiver to 3.3V, and added series resistors.


Strange doesn't the ps2 supply 5v to the logitech all the same?

... I had the same problem, but with a series resistor going to the PS2 receiver. It worked just as it should.

I have a logitec and would like to try your mod, what series resistor values work well, and and what pins (DAT, CMD, CLK, ATT) ?
Would two resistors forming a potential divider be better eg perhaps a 1k and 2k2
Do i need to add a regulator eg LM1117?

Thanks for any help
Excellent mod i-bot, formatting the data is a brilliant idea!

We have problems with Logitech wireless. They don't like a 5V power supply.
I have the Logitech working, though I dropped the voltage to both the PIC and the receiver to 3.3V, and added series resistors.


Strange doesn't the ps2 supply 5v to the logitech all the same?

... I had the same problem, but with a series resistor going to the PS2 receiver. It worked just as it should.

I have a logitec and would like to try your mod, what series resistor values work well, and and what pins (DAT, CMD, CLK, ATT) ?
Would two resistors forming a potential divider be better eg perhaps a 1k and 2k2
Do i need to add a regulator eg LM1117?

Thanks for any help
NovaOne
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 am

Next
30 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
30 postsPage 1 of 21, 2