Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

Interrupting Move Command?

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1

Interrupting Move Command?

Post by Antoineft » Tue Aug 15, 2006 1:44 am

Post by Antoineft
Tue Aug 15, 2006 1:44 am

Hey guys,

I just got a Robonova and found this forum for the first time just recently. Sweet to see a bunch of other people so into this stuff. Anyways, I've played around with programming and am trying to use my hobby radio to control the Robonova, since I can get more than just on/off control of basic functions.

I would like to have a movement occur when I move the control stick, but then stop dead when I release. The problem is that the "MOVE" command will complete its movement before looking at the next command. The "SERVO" command will do what I want but you can only control one servo at a time which means many, many lines of code when controlling multiple servos. Is there an easier way of doing this that I'm not seeing? I basically need to interrupt the move command to send the servo to a new position when directed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Antoine
Hey guys,

I just got a Robonova and found this forum for the first time just recently. Sweet to see a bunch of other people so into this stuff. Anyways, I've played around with programming and am trying to use my hobby radio to control the Robonova, since I can get more than just on/off control of basic functions.

I would like to have a movement occur when I move the control stick, but then stop dead when I release. The problem is that the "MOVE" command will complete its movement before looking at the next command. The "SERVO" command will do what I want but you can only control one servo at a time which means many, many lines of code when controlling multiple servos. Is there an easier way of doing this that I'm not seeing? I basically need to interrupt the move command to send the servo to a new position when directed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Antoine
Antoineft
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Bullit » Tue Aug 15, 2006 2:17 am

Post by Bullit
Tue Aug 15, 2006 2:17 am

Welcome aboard!
After a PTP move command before the wait statement you can check your IR sensor or serial port for an input. You can then stop the motion by using a getmotor set command. This command will read the servos current position and set it tp that position effectively stopping the motion. I suggest using just the servo or servos in motion and not read/ set the others as there is always a little backlash.
Welcome aboard!
After a PTP move command before the wait statement you can check your IR sensor or serial port for an input. You can then stop the motion by using a getmotor set command. This command will read the servos current position and set it tp that position effectively stopping the motion. I suggest using just the servo or servos in motion and not read/ set the others as there is always a little backlash.
Image
Bullit
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Near robot


2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1