Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

motion and acceleration speed setting

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
11 postsPage 1 of 1
11 postsPage 1 of 1

motion and acceleration speed setting

Post by ryann2k1 » Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:08 am

Post by ryann2k1
Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:08 am

Hi....
does anyone know which address of the CM-5 need to be change if I want to set the motion speed and the acceleration time ( it is available in motion editor).
I have made my own C code for walking but it looks really awkward as the motion is really slow... ( I tried to change P_GOAL_SPEED to 3ff and the walking looks really strange). :(
I took the walking sample page 60-63-64-65-62-62 in motion editor and implemented my C code and the results are the same.

cheers,


ryann2k1
Hi....
does anyone know which address of the CM-5 need to be change if I want to set the motion speed and the acceleration time ( it is available in motion editor).
I have made my own C code for walking but it looks really awkward as the motion is really slow... ( I tried to change P_GOAL_SPEED to 3ff and the walking looks really strange). :(
I took the walking sample page 60-63-64-65-62-62 in motion editor and implemented my C code and the results are the same.

cheers,


ryann2k1
ryann2k1
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Zypkin » Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:15 am

Post by Zypkin
Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:15 am

The motion editor does not set any register in the CM5.
It simply creates position profiles for each servo and writes them into the CM5 memory... and that's why using the standard Bioloid package U can set the acceleration only in the motion editor and not on the fly while the program is running: everything is precalculated.
If you want change the motion speed/acceleration in your software you need to calculate yourself the acceleration profile.

I didnt try it yet but I guess if you do not set anything the servo should move at its maximum speed... probably Jon can give you a more precise answer.

Cheers,
Zyp
The motion editor does not set any register in the CM5.
It simply creates position profiles for each servo and writes them into the CM5 memory... and that's why using the standard Bioloid package U can set the acceleration only in the motion editor and not on the fly while the program is running: everything is precalculated.
If you want change the motion speed/acceleration in your software you need to calculate yourself the acceleration profile.

I didnt try it yet but I guess if you do not set anything the servo should move at its maximum speed... probably Jon can give you a more precise answer.

Cheers,
Zyp
Zypkin
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:26 pm

Post by ryann2k1 » Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:41 am

Post by ryann2k1
Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:41 am

Hi Zyp,
I have tried to add some delay, but it seems it is not working succesfully.
Maybe I have to be more patience :D


cheers,

ryann2k1
Hi Zyp,
I have tried to add some delay, but it seems it is not working succesfully.
Maybe I have to be more patience :D


cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ryann2k1 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:54 am

Post by ryann2k1
Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:54 am

I am getting frustrated with awkward walking motion. :(
Does anyone use C code to generate a walking motion for the bioloid?

cheers,

ryann2k1
I am getting frustrated with awkward walking motion. :(
Does anyone use C code to generate a walking motion for the bioloid?

cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Zypkin » Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:03 am

Post by Zypkin
Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:03 am

Do you watch the motion flag on the servos???????
...if you send a new position before the last position is reached (servo is still moving) U get very likely a strange behavior.


Zyp
Do you watch the motion flag on the servos???????
...if you send a new position before the last position is reached (servo is still moving) U get very likely a strange behavior.


Zyp
Zypkin
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:26 pm

Post by ryann2k1 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:37 am

Post by ryann2k1
Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:37 am

it keeps monitoring. whenever the goal position has been achieved then the next goal positon will be executed.
The motion is just like a slow motion.
do you develop your own C for walking?


cheers,

ryann2k1
it keeps monitoring. whenever the goal position has been achieved then the next goal positon will be executed.
The motion is just like a slow motion.
do you develop your own C for walking?


cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ryann2k1 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:01 pm

Post by ryann2k1
Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:01 pm

Finally..I made it...
My robot can work properly..
Thanks...

cheers,

ryann2k1
Finally..I made it...
My robot can work properly..
Thanks...

cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Zypkin » Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:27 pm

Post by Zypkin
Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:27 pm

ryann2k1 wrote:Finally..I made it...
My robot can work properly..


...hey :shock:
...but now u gotta tell us what was wrong :!:

Zyp :roll:
ryann2k1 wrote:Finally..I made it...
My robot can work properly..


...hey :shock:
...but now u gotta tell us what was wrong :!:

Zyp :roll:
Zypkin
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:26 pm

Post by ryann2k1 » Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:54 am

Post by ryann2k1
Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:54 am

Dont worry... :)
Previously, I kept monitoring the flag whether each dynamixel had finished doing the motion or not, this had made a delay to the walking gaits. Once I take it off, my robot walks properly.
:D


cheers,

ryann2k1
Dont worry... :)
Previously, I kept monitoring the flag whether each dynamixel had finished doing the motion or not, this had made a delay to the walking gaits. Once I take it off, my robot walks properly.
:D


cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Zypkin » Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:55 am

Post by Zypkin
Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:55 am

weird... :shock:
weird... :shock:
Zypkin
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:26 pm

Post by ryann2k1 » Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:43 pm

Post by ryann2k1
Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:43 pm

that's why It was hard to figure it,I just tried then it works....
that's why It was hard to figure it,I just tried then it works....
ryann2k1
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am


11 postsPage 1 of 1
11 postsPage 1 of 1