Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

Humanoid Joint Ranges

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

Humanoid Joint Ranges

Post by Rob » Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:23 pm

Post by Rob
Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:23 pm

Each AX-12 (joint) on the humanoid has a set range of movement (minimum position limit, maxium position limit) determined by the plastic brackets (skeleton) it is attached to. I was wondering how people out there were dealing with this when creating custom code fro the bioloid.

I think there are two ways:
1) Configure the range limits of each joint and if the caller exceeds those then throw an error and don't move at all - easy to implement
2) Monitor the load on the joint and stop the joint movement if the load suddenly increases - harder I guess

Has any one successfully implemented #2 or are people just sticking with the #1 approach?
Each AX-12 (joint) on the humanoid has a set range of movement (minimum position limit, maxium position limit) determined by the plastic brackets (skeleton) it is attached to. I was wondering how people out there were dealing with this when creating custom code fro the bioloid.

I think there are two ways:
1) Configure the range limits of each joint and if the caller exceeds those then throw an error and don't move at all - easy to implement
2) Monitor the load on the joint and stop the joint movement if the load suddenly increases - harder I guess

Has any one successfully implemented #2 or are people just sticking with the #1 approach?
Rob
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:05 pm

Post by Pev » Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:31 pm

Post by Pev
Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:31 pm

Hi,

The AX-12 has a present load feature that can tell you when the load exceeds a chosen amount. I used it when I experimented witha simple gripper that realised when it had gripped something:

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1028

Pev
Hi,

The AX-12 has a present load feature that can tell you when the load exceeds a chosen amount. I used it when I experimented witha simple gripper that realised when it had gripped something:

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1028

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by Rob » Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:29 pm

Post by Rob
Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:29 pm

Hi Pev,

Nice gripper, did you just keep reading the load values while the gripper was moving? Did you program this in the BCP?

Rob
Hi Pev,

Nice gripper, did you just keep reading the load values while the gripper was moving? Did you program this in the BCP?

Rob
Rob
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:05 pm


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1