Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

Invalid Packets

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1

Invalid Packets

Post by JavaRN » Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:06 pm

Post by JavaRN
Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:06 pm

I'm writing a simple application to send robot moves from my PC to the CM-5 using Zig-bee. The program logic seems ok but sometimes I receive invalid packets from the CM-5, for example packets without headers (FF 85), or without MSB. I've spent the whole day debugging the program and as I said there seems to be no error in the logic, in fact most of the times it works fine, but for no specific reason I get one or two of these malformed packets, which are enough to make the program stop. :cry:

Is it normal to get malformed packets?

If some of you have any feedback I would really appreciate.
I'm writing a simple application to send robot moves from my PC to the CM-5 using Zig-bee. The program logic seems ok but sometimes I receive invalid packets from the CM-5, for example packets without headers (FF 85), or without MSB. I've spent the whole day debugging the program and as I said there seems to be no error in the logic, in fact most of the times it works fine, but for no specific reason I get one or two of these malformed packets, which are enough to make the program stop. :cry:

Is it normal to get malformed packets?

If some of you have any feedback I would really appreciate.
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by tom_chang79 » Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:11 pm

Post by tom_chang79
Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:11 pm

I wonder if it's just loss through the air since it's wireless, in the form of RF.
I wonder if it's just loss through the air since it's wireless, in the form of RF.
tom_chang79
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 2:31 am
Location: California

Post by JonHylands » Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:11 pm

Post by JonHylands
Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:11 pm

I get bad packets every now and again using a wired connection. Your code that handles responses has to be very flexible and resilient to bad responses, because there is very little in the real world that is perfect.

- Jon
I get bad packets every now and again using a wired connection. Your code that handles responses has to be very flexible and resilient to bad responses, because there is very little in the real world that is perfect.

- Jon
JonHylands
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by JavaRN » Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:29 pm

Post by JavaRN
Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:29 pm

Thanks all for your help, right now I am designing a packet recovery algorithm which is working fine for some (not all) the incoming invalid packets (the ones with no headers). I guess with some more debugging I can achieve the final aim. Thanks again.



Charles.
Thanks all for your help, right now I am designing a packet recovery algorithm which is working fine for some (not all) the incoming invalid packets (the ones with no headers). I guess with some more debugging I can achieve the final aim. Thanks again.



Charles.
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by Dewey » Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:37 pm

Post by Dewey
Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:37 pm

The CM5 Zig100 output is common with the CM5 Serial cable output. Zig100 and cable input are switched.

This means that any CM5 transmission goes to both the Zig100 and the cable, any BCP output intended for the cable/PC terminal will also be Txed by the Zig100. This would be seen by your Zig100/PC setup if you haven't set up a screening for the correct protocol. Any debug code using the PC/cable/Terminal will make matters worse!

Dewey
The CM5 Zig100 output is common with the CM5 Serial cable output. Zig100 and cable input are switched.

This means that any CM5 transmission goes to both the Zig100 and the cable, any BCP output intended for the cable/PC terminal will also be Txed by the Zig100. This would be seen by your Zig100/PC setup if you haven't set up a screening for the correct protocol. Any debug code using the PC/cable/Terminal will make matters worse!

Dewey
Dewey
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:17 pm
Location: Worcester UK

Post by JavaRN » Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:05 pm

Post by JavaRN
Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:05 pm

This means that any CM5 transmission goes to both the Zig100 and the cable, any BCP output intended for the cable/PC terminal will also be Txed by the Zig100.


I noticed that, in fact I will try something different. I will send the data using packets and try to use the print command to get the results back.

Thanks Dewey
This means that any CM5 transmission goes to both the Zig100 and the cable, any BCP output intended for the cable/PC terminal will also be Txed by the Zig100.


I noticed that, in fact I will try something different. I will send the data using packets and try to use the print command to get the results back.

Thanks Dewey
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm


6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1