Legacy Forum: Preserving Nearly 20 Years of Community History - A Time Capsule of Discussions, Memories, and Shared Experiences.

help on roboplus!

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
14 postsPage 1 of 1
14 postsPage 1 of 1

help on roboplus!

Post by robaldo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:26 pm

Post by robaldo
Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:26 pm

Hi all
i need to know what the parameters (pause, time, rate, ...) in roboplus means for every motion?
could you please explain them?
thanks all
Hi all
i need to know what the parameters (pause, time, rate, ...) in roboplus means for every motion?
could you please explain them?
thanks all
robaldo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:49 pm

Post by Fritzoid » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:14 pm

Post by Fritzoid
Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:14 pm

Hi robaldo,

Each step starts with the servos in the position at which the last step ended. The servo positions defined for the current step are the positions that you would like the servos to be in when the step completes. The TIME value is how long, in seconds, that you want the movement to take. A smaller time value will make the servos move faster than a larger time value will.

Once the servos get to where there supposed to be you can have them hold that position for a short time before starting the next motion. This is where the PAUSE value comes in. It defines the wait time, in seconds again, between the current step and the next step in the motion page.

Finally, the RATE can be used to modify both the step time and the pause time operation. The actual times are calculated by dividing the above specified times by the rate value. So a rate of 1.0 would run the page at the normal speed where the time and pause seconds are the same as real-time seconds. A rate of 2 would run the page at double speed and the motions whould complete in 1/2 the time.

The software is really quite simple, it's the jumbled Korean explainations that most people have trouble with.
Hi robaldo,

Each step starts with the servos in the position at which the last step ended. The servo positions defined for the current step are the positions that you would like the servos to be in when the step completes. The TIME value is how long, in seconds, that you want the movement to take. A smaller time value will make the servos move faster than a larger time value will.

Once the servos get to where there supposed to be you can have them hold that position for a short time before starting the next motion. This is where the PAUSE value comes in. It defines the wait time, in seconds again, between the current step and the next step in the motion page.

Finally, the RATE can be used to modify both the step time and the pause time operation. The actual times are calculated by dividing the above specified times by the rate value. So a rate of 1.0 would run the page at the normal speed where the time and pause seconds are the same as real-time seconds. A rate of 2 would run the page at double speed and the motions whould complete in 1/2 the time.

The software is really quite simple, it's the jumbled Korean explainations that most people have trouble with.
Fritzoid
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:00 am

Post by robaldo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:37 pm

Post by robaldo
Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:37 pm

thanks
could you please tell me what is joint softness?
thanks
thanks
could you please tell me what is joint softness?
thanks
robaldo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:49 pm

Post by Fritzoid » Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:14 pm

Post by Fritzoid
Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:14 pm

I had a feeling you might ask that!

Softness determines the steepness of the compliance slope. The compliance slope governs the level of torque that is applied as the servo strays outside the compliance margin. The amount of torque applied is proportional to the distance from the compliance margin and to the softness value. For a given distance from the compliance margin (error), a servo with a higher softness value will apply more torque than a servo with a lower softness value. Each softness level represents a power-of-two multiplier on the torque. Thus the median value of 5 multiplies the torque by 2^5 or 32 times. A value of 7 would multiply the torque by 128 times making the joint a good deal stiffer.

You can read more about the compliance margin and slope in the AX-12 manual. See the Bioloid Documentaion section on the site menu for a link to the manual. Or go to the Robotis site for more information.
I had a feeling you might ask that!

Softness determines the steepness of the compliance slope. The compliance slope governs the level of torque that is applied as the servo strays outside the compliance margin. The amount of torque applied is proportional to the distance from the compliance margin and to the softness value. For a given distance from the compliance margin (error), a servo with a higher softness value will apply more torque than a servo with a lower softness value. Each softness level represents a power-of-two multiplier on the torque. Thus the median value of 5 multiplies the torque by 2^5 or 32 times. A value of 7 would multiply the torque by 128 times making the joint a good deal stiffer.

You can read more about the compliance margin and slope in the AX-12 manual. See the Bioloid Documentaion section on the site menu for a link to the manual. Or go to the Robotis site for more information.
Fritzoid
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:00 am

Post by robaldo » Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:16 pm

Post by robaldo
Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:16 pm

Hi
thanks
i just got what you said!
now i need to know what is CTRL inertia force!
u know? i want to make a PC program and use motions in my program!
so i need to know these parameters!
i made my application but multiple step motions (like walk) is not working well!
it seems some value should be determined via these parameters!
Hi
thanks
i just got what you said!
now i need to know what is CTRL inertia force!
u know? i want to make a PC program and use motions in my program!
so i need to know these parameters!
i made my application but multiple step motions (like walk) is not working well!
it seems some value should be determined via these parameters!
robaldo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:49 pm

Post by Fritzoid » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:27 pm

Post by Fritzoid
Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:27 pm

Hi robaldo,

As the servo moves from one position to another there are three phases of operation. These are (in time sequence) acceleration, cruising, and deceleration. If you graph the velocity over time the path traces out a trapezoid, first rising, then steady, followed by a falling slope.
_____
^ / \
speed | /_______\ time ->

The top speed is fixed so the trapezoid has a limited height. The step time is also fixed so the width of the figure is similarly restricted. The acceleration (rising) time and the deceleration (falling) time need to be the same but can vary from a sharp angle to a gentle slope. The more shallow the slope, the less acceleration there is and the more fluid the actions become.

Setting Control Inertial Forces to zero will make the trapezoid more like a rectangle, making the robot jerk from position to position. A very high value will make the graph more like an oblique triangle and accleration will be minimized.

Note for power users: if the acceleration and deceleration time exceed the step time (i.e. there's negative cruise time) the motion will be rejected by the controller at run-time.
Hi robaldo,

As the servo moves from one position to another there are three phases of operation. These are (in time sequence) acceleration, cruising, and deceleration. If you graph the velocity over time the path traces out a trapezoid, first rising, then steady, followed by a falling slope.
_____
^ / \
speed | /_______\ time ->

The top speed is fixed so the trapezoid has a limited height. The step time is also fixed so the width of the figure is similarly restricted. The acceleration (rising) time and the deceleration (falling) time need to be the same but can vary from a sharp angle to a gentle slope. The more shallow the slope, the less acceleration there is and the more fluid the actions become.

Setting Control Inertial Forces to zero will make the trapezoid more like a rectangle, making the robot jerk from position to position. A very high value will make the graph more like an oblique triangle and accleration will be minimized.

Note for power users: if the acceleration and deceleration time exceed the step time (i.e. there's negative cruise time) the motion will be rejected by the controller at run-time.
Fritzoid
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:00 am

Post by robaldo » Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:15 am

Post by robaldo
Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:15 am

thanks
also i want to know how the cm5 calculates speeds and degrees for the motions!
for example the clap ready motion(type a robot)!
how can i just clone this motion in my program in my PC and send it to ax-12?
is there any formula for calculating these parameters? or just send them to ax-12 registers?
thanks
thanks
also i want to know how the cm5 calculates speeds and degrees for the motions!
for example the clap ready motion(type a robot)!
how can i just clone this motion in my program in my PC and send it to ax-12?
is there any formula for calculating these parameters? or just send them to ax-12 registers?
thanks
robaldo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:49 pm

Post by Fritzoid » Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:33 pm

Post by Fritzoid
Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:33 pm

So, what do you need all this information for?
So, what do you need all this information for?
Fritzoid
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:00 am

Roboplus problems

Post by MOHIT JINDAL » Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:41 pm

Post by MOHIT JINDAL
Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:41 pm

Hi,
Today I connected Type A with pc and updated the firmware as it said. Now Autonomus mode is not working. Rc 100 is fine.
Any one has solution ? :roll:
Also I tried pose utility, it works but i not find any way to fix Dynamixel rotation to only 30 degrees. I want to control Bioloid with pc not from Cm510 :cry:
Hi,
Today I connected Type A with pc and updated the firmware as it said. Now Autonomus mode is not working. Rc 100 is fine.
Any one has solution ? :roll:
Also I tried pose utility, it works but i not find any way to fix Dynamixel rotation to only 30 degrees. I want to control Bioloid with pc not from Cm510 :cry:
MOHIT JINDAL
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:43 am

Post by robaldo » Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:12 pm

Post by robaldo
Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:12 pm

Fritzoid wrote:So, what do you need all this information for?

i have told before!
i want to make my own pc application instead of roboplus motion editor!
thanks
Fritzoid wrote:So, what do you need all this information for?

i have told before!
i want to make my own pc application instead of roboplus motion editor!
thanks
robaldo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:49 pm

Post by Fritzoid » Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:57 pm

Post by Fritzoid
Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:57 pm

Will you be sending packets and using Toss mode ?
Will you be sending packets and using Toss mode ?
Fritzoid
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:00 am

Post by robaldo » Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:01 pm

Post by robaldo
Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:01 pm

Fritzoid wrote:Will you be sending packets and using Toss mode ?

yes i want to send packets!
sorry what is TOSS mode? :D
Fritzoid wrote:Will you be sending packets and using Toss mode ?

yes i want to send packets!
sorry what is TOSS mode? :D
robaldo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:49 pm

Post by Fritzoid » Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:15 pm

Post by Fritzoid
Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:15 pm

Toss mode alows you to send packets to the CM-5/510 at over the serial link (at 56Kb) and have them passed-thru to the dynamixels (at 1Mb). The response packets are returned to the PC.

A number of people around the world are working with this mode and have already written code to do what you are contemplating. I suggest that you look at the Bioloid wiki pages and search the RoboSavvy archives and web to get more information.
Toss mode alows you to send packets to the CM-5/510 at over the serial link (at 56Kb) and have them passed-thru to the dynamixels (at 1Mb). The response packets are returned to the PC.

A number of people around the world are working with this mode and have already written code to do what you are contemplating. I suggest that you look at the Bioloid wiki pages and search the RoboSavvy archives and web to get more information.
Fritzoid
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:00 am

Post by robaldo » Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:55 am

Post by robaldo
Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:55 am

thanks
does any body know what is inverse kinematic engine useful for?
how can i use it?
thanks
thanks
does any body know what is inverse kinematic engine useful for?
how can i use it?
thanks
robaldo
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:49 pm


14 postsPage 1 of 1
14 postsPage 1 of 1